DEATH

We Always Think We Have More Time

But we never seem to have the time to prepare for the inevitable

Aria Dailee
4 min readAug 25, 2021

--

I was heading to my next class when I heard a frantic girl say into her phone, “Is dad going to be okay?” After a moment I saw her start to cry. Others around her tried to comfort her. It seemed that her father had passed away.

We’re never quite ready for death, whether we know someone is about to pass away or not. It’s one of the hardest things that we will have to endure several times throughout our lives. I’ve experienced three significant deaths while in college. The first being the death of my grandfather.

My Grandfather

My grandfather was a great man. He loved his family and even built the house my mom grew up in. He always thought education was of the utmost importance. So when I didn’t have the money to go to college, he volunteered to be the cosigner of my student loan. Without him doing that, I wouldn’t have been able to go. I will always appreciate what he did for me. Without him, I wouldn’t have the career I have today.

So when he passed away about a year later, I took it pretty hard. What made it even worse is I didn’t have the money to go to his funeral. My mom couldn’t afford to send for me either. She tried to make me…

--

--

Aria Dailee

Research geographer whose mind is full of too many thoughts to keep to herself. ➽➽ Newsletter: https://bit.ly/3qyllEM ➽ My Socials: https://linktr.ee/ariadailee